>> home : albums : ghost of a smile

Only released in Holland on CD in November 1997.
A promo CD was issued with the same sleeve, but with a different disc.
This is the first official CD release with Smile tracks, which have been taken from the original master tapes.


above: the front, back and the CD of the promo issue (the normal CD issue has the smile on the disc)

Album info
  1. Earth (Staffell) 4:00
  2. Step On Me (Staffell/May) 3:10
  3. Doin' Alright (Staffell/May) 3:48
  4. April Lady (Lucas) 2:43
  5. Blag (Taylor) 3:12
  6. Polar Bear (May) 3:56
  bonus tracks
  7. The Man From Manhattan (Original) (Howell) 3:20
  8. The Man From Manhattan (Back Again) (Howell) 4:56

all tracks are MONO except track 3, 7 and 8, they are in STEREO

Liner notes
Brian May: Vocals, Guitars & Piano ('Step On Me')
Tim Staffell: Vocals & Bass Guitar
Roger Taylor: Drums & Backing Vocals

Guest Appearance
Session Musician: Keyboards 'Earth'

Tracks 1 - 3 recorded in June 1969 at the Trident Studios, Soho, England
Produced by John Anthony
Executive producer Lou Reizner
Tracks 3 - 6 recorded in September 1969 at the De Lane Lea Studios, Holborn, London, England
Produced by Fritz Freyer

EDDIE HOWELL 'The Man From Manhattan'
Eddie Howell: Lead Vocals & Acoustic Guitars
Freddie Mercury: Piano & Backing Vocals
Brian May: Electric Lead Guitar & Backing Vocals
Jerome Rimson: Bass Guitar
Barry de Sousa: Drums

Produced by Freddie Mercury for Queen Productions Ltd.
Engineer Mike Stone.
Recorded at the Sarm East Studios, London, England August 1975.
Originally released UK March 1976. 7" Warner Bros K16701.

These recordings have been re-mastered at the Sound Factory, Soest, Holland by Peter van 't Riet using the Sonic Solutions System to ensure the highest possible sound quality.

Smile Logo & drawing by Tim Staffell
Title album 'Ghost Of A Smile' by Tim Staffell
Lay out & Lithography: Aad Spanjaard
Photographs: John Valentine
Compilation & coordination by Hans van Vuuren

Tracks 1-6 1969 Mercury / Tracks 7-8 1976 Warner Brothers

This compilation 1997 Pseudonym Records with kind permission of Decision Products and Mercury/Polygram TV.

Special thanks to Andy Davis, Marcel Doesburg, Hannie Roggeveen, Volker Sassenberg, Tim Staffell, John S. Stuart & Roy Teysse.

Single releases

Other notes

>> sleeves   
the eye   

>> collectors   
news of the world   
in the queen vaults   
worldwide rarities   

>> other stuff   
sound files   

my collection   

website awards   
   © 1997 - 2015